Library

Search@UW

 
 

What's New? 

Very Short Introductions Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to ConsciousnessGame Theory to Ancient WarfarePrivacy to Islamic HistoryEconomics to Literary Theory.

SUGGEST an item for purchase!

Please use this form to suggest items to add to our collection

Campus Book Club News

                              
The Hamilton Roddis Memorial Library is hosting a Book Club on August 1st at 6:00 p.m.For our next meeting, we will be reading both Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly and Sarah's Key by Tatiana de Rosney.  As you can see, the reviewer of Lilac Girls has put these two books together for us.
 

Lilac Girls NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung  women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.
 New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades  Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

 

Sara's Key Paris, July 1942: Sarah, a ten year-old girl, is brutally arrested with her family by the French police in the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup, but not before she locks her younger brother in a cupboard in the  family's apartment, thinking that she will be back within a few hours.
 Paris, May 2002: On Vel' d'Hiv's 60th anniversary, journalist Julia Jarmond is asked to write an article about this black day in France's past. Through her contemporary investigation, she  stumbles onto a trail of long-hidden family secrets that connect her to Sarah. Julia finds herself compelled to retrace the girl's ordeal, from that terrible term in the Vel d'Hiv', to the camps, and  beyond. As she probes into Sarah's past, she begins to question her own place in France, and to reevaluate her marriage and her life. 
.

 

 

                                                                                                                        

Browse the full collection of magazine titles